Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing a selmer S80 C* mouthpiece on my alto since a couple months after i started saxophone, which is like 5 years ago now. Ever since I got it I've been using the stock lig that came with it, but my tone is and has always has been just kinda blah. It's hard to explain. It's just not as dark and the sound's not as focused as I would like it to be (as in the sound just kinda splats out of the horn). Would a different lig possibly help this, and if so, what ligs do you recommend? Any advice is appreciated.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,205 Posts
Try a Rovner.
The blah sound is probably not the ligs fault, but you can mess around with a few to see if they make any difference.

·
Registered
494 Posts
BG Traditional Gold plated, Bay Gold plated, Vandoren Optimum are what I like.

·
Registered
442 Posts
On my tenor, I use a Selmer S80 C* with a Rovner lig and Legere reed. To me, that combo makes a great sound.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
I doubt if any ligature will affect your tone at this point. You may want to experiment with reeds, though.

I use a Selmer S-80 C* on alto (from vintage to modern) and it works great for me. It may take some players years to come to grips with a good sound. Once that happens, THEN some ligature experiments may help one refine the tone. DAVE

·
Banned
593 Posts
well are these recomendation holding the reed tighter or looser? is the material from the lig damping the vibration of the reed? i cant tell much difference in sound between a rovner, the standard selmer gold one, and a rico H ligature.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts