Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! New to the forum :) I'm looking to get a new tenor and I came across a deal on a Selmer Paris III that seems too good to be true, but it's through a site with buyer protection, so I'm considering taking the risk. One of my concerns is about the legitimacy of the instrument and I was curious to see if anyone could pick out whether there are any indications of fakery in these pictures. From what I can see, the horn looks legitimate but I'm wondering if someone on here has a better trained eye than myself.

Thanks!

Attachments

· Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2012
4,136 Posts
Nothing suspect at first sight. But I’ve got no experience with fakes, pretty uncommon over here.

· Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
28,959 Posts
...and I came across a deal on a Selmer Paris III that seems too good to be true...
Greed is how they get you. Even if legit, the pictures could come from elsewhere. What kind of deal are we talking? What's the price?

· Registered
54 Posts
A first look, it does look like my Serie III tenor, but more detailed pictures would be required to confirm. Be sure to check out the seller by running an internet search and look for comments and reviews. Without verifying a quality seller, I wouldn't take the chance. A price to good to be true, usually is.

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah, that's the thing, it's way too good of a price. $750 for mint condition. I suppose I'm trying to give myself a reason not to try it but there's no realistic way it's not a scam. Did a reverse search of the pictures and nothing came up, and the pictures look legit. So since the platform has buyer protection I was trying to see where the scam is but I guess there's always room for the seller to maneuver after purchasing.

· Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2012
4,136 Posts