Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive played tenor, and some bari, exclusively. Even in college when I studied legit my prof encouraged me to play tenor. Now Im thinking about getting an alto for teaching and was just wondering what cats are using for legit. I remember most of the guys(and gals) were using selmer c*. What are you legit masters playing these days. Thanks in advance.-----C.W

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,596 Posts
I think most people are digging on the new Vandoren Optimums for legit playing these days, They are way more consistent than the Selmer S[80] or S90 pieces.

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hmmmm...veeeerrryyyy interesting. Thanks for the replies guys...and evryone else plz chime in!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
631 Posts
Selmer Paris Larry Teal (LT402) is my choice for both jazz and symphonic stuff.

·
Registered
480 Posts
I'm no master, simply a college student. However, I play about 95% classical and the other 5 % is my attempt at jazz. I've tried Selmer S80 and Soloist C*'s, Rousseau 4C and NC4, and Vandoren Optimum AL3 and 4. Out of my experience, the AL3 has gotten me the closest to "my" sound. The Rousseau NC4 is a very close 2nd, but it just took more work to get the same sound.

·
Registered
543 Posts
Hi,

Vandoren V5 series very popular here around: A27, A28, A17.
Also the Optimum series: AL3, AL4.
See my signature for my preferences having tried all of them.

Cheers!!!!!!!!!
Anselmo

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks for the replies everyone. I am not familiar with any of these except the selmer s-80(for tenor). Guess I have some homework to do.

·
Registered
17 Posts
I played a selmer s80 c* for 20 years and just bought a Morgan 3C last week. It has a very nice dark classical tone but a small tip opening. Might take some getting used to.

·
Registered
347 Posts