Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

So for marching band, I've been using Vandoren Java 3.5s with my plastic Brilhart Ebolin 4*. I'm happy with the Java's performance, but the weather is messing with my reed, and people keep breaking it (by hitting it, etc). A senior advised I get a synthetic or plastic reed, so I decided I'll go with the Legere Studio Cut.

I could not find a strength chart however, so I don't know what strength of the Legere I should get. None of the stores within a 25 mile radius sell it, so I'll have to buy it on Woodwinds & Brasswinds.

Anyone with experience?

·
Registered
439 Posts
Try the Classic Series first. Your director would not appreciate the aggressive tone of the Studio Cut within the ensemble. As an WW instructor, I make that same recommendation to our kids! Go with a 3 or a 3.25 if you are used to a 3.5 Java. If you feel you must go with the Studio go for the 3.25.

For more info, see my Legere review under the Reeds board.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,875 Posts
I certainly agree that would want a softer grade Legere, but I would recommend the Studio not the Classic. mainly because I didn't like the Classic, the Studio to me feels and sounds more like a conventional reed.

I used to use Vandoren 2.5, and now use Legere Studio 2.

Sadly it's still a gamble when trying a new make and hoping to get the strength right, at least Legere will exchange the reed if you find the strength is wrong.

·
Registered
439 Posts
Pete,
Personally I agree about the assessment of the Classic, but that's coming from my own playing perspective.
For a student, most Directors prefer not to have one or two players sticking out of the ensemble. The Studio is a soloist reed, IMO.

Now for your Jazz ensemble, Llamas, rock the Studio or Signature Series. Can't go wrong!

·
Registered
439 Posts