Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering how many of us late bloomers are playing with others in a band. This thought occurred to me as the result a question by Rudy on his thread RECITAL.

When I decided I wanted to play saxophone, and even before he agreed to take me on as a student, my teacher quizzed me as to what kind of music I wanted to play and with whom I wanted to play it. I was interested in dance band music and big band jazz, (Ellington, Basie, Kenton, Buddie Rich, Fletcher Henderson etc) I wanted to be a section player not a small-group soloist.

After a while, at my teacher’s suggestion, I asked if I might “sit in” (as a reader, not a player) with a local semi-pro big band. I knew I probably couldn’t have passed an audition, and as they had no vacancies, this seemed a good way to get a foot in the door.

My teacher thought it a good way to save embarrassment also. If it proved to be “a bridge too far” for me, I could simply not go any more, and this would have made no difference to the band. Likewise, if had been playing below their standard, they would not need to show me the door.

I went to every rehearsal, made copies of the pieces they were working on, and took them to my lessons. After about ten weeks or so the leader said “Bring your tenor next week”. So I did.

Then we had six saxes in the section. I played as an extra. There were a few rehearsals, and a couple of gigs were the 1st tenor was absent, and so the proper 2nd tenor took his placed, and I played 2nd tenor.

Then I had an amazing stroke of luck,. The leadership of the band changed, and the 2nd tenor was elected conductor. I slipped into his chair without there being any debate.

Since then, I have also joined a classical wind ensemble, a totally different world, from which I can learn enormously.