Sax on the Web Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Never dreamed that I would actually read this post here. :D I have a lark tenor from years ago which I really want to upgrade from.

Having said that, the Lark is actually from China and if compared to other Taiwanese models such as Jupiter, Antigua, etc, is many years behind. When you say for 850 dollars, is it US dollars? Then I think you can get much better horns at that price. One that I would recommend (although I haven't tried) is Kessler's Custom Tenor which is retailing at that price, too. I am recommending it by sheer good report and feedback from current users. You can check out his website from here (at the top of the forum) as he is the sponsor to this site.

I have been playing on my Lark Tenor for several years now and believe me if you don't get discouraged by it at first, you can build monster chops on it just by the sheer hard work you have to put yourself through to get a good tone. :cool: I gig with it and I long for the day that I have enough cash to upgrade. That way, I would already have paid my dues.

Good luck and don't make a decision too soon. Weigh your options first you if have the opportunity!

·
Registered
3,714 Posts
If I remember correctly, the Lark is the same thing as the Swallow (please don't get started on that again), which is the same thing as the newer SML A400 and T400 (the Strasser-Marigaux company has sued because the manufacturer is using the SML name without permission).

These are definitely R.O.C. horns. Student quality. Considering I think that these are also the same as the Keilwerth ST-90 student model, they're probably not terrible student horns.

I'd still heartily recommend that if you're looking for student hornage, you get a Yamaha. I've seen a few posts here that say the Kessler horn's nice, too.

·
Registered
64 Posts