Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Forum Contributor 2010, Distinguished SOTW Member
5,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's a question that I hope doesn't make everyone froth at the mouth (since I know LA Sax has its proponents and its adversaries): does anyone have an informed opinion about this axe? I like saxellos, and if I had the dough right now I'd seriously consider R&C. Someday. Meanwhile, this saxello is reasonably priced. The strategy would be to get this for now, and sell it later when I want to move upward on this front (if). I know it's not a great horn, but is it decent? How's the tone, how's the intonation?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,305 Posts
In response to your question, I have no experience with the L.A. Sax version, but I do have experience with the R&C tipped-bell and a real Saxello (H.N. White/King).

Can you explain your fixation with tipped-bell sopranos? I understand their appearance - they ARE intriguing. That is why in the past, I acquired the two I mentioned. But the truth is, they played like . . . sopranos. And, they sounded like . . . sopranos, albeit the King Saxello (every one I've played) had a very poor scale. Other than that, I much prefer either straight or fully curved. At least I can set them down on a gig while I play another horn. DAVE

·
Forum Contributor 2010, Distinguished SOTW Member
5,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dave Dolson said:
In response to your question, I have no experience with the L.A. Sax version, but I do have experience with the R&C tipped-bell and a real Saxello (H.N. White/King).