Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a bent soprano Kohlert. It is real easy to play. It is marked with "1" which would mean it is from 1901. I wonder why there are no keys for high E and F on the left hand side.
Thina, Stockholm
right side Kohlert soprano (640x480) (2).jpg Number 1 (480x640).jpg Mouthpiece Kohlert (640x480).jpg Left side kohlert soprano (640x480).jpg Engraving Kohlert soprano (640x480).jpg D D# keys (480x640).jpg Case inside (640x480).jpg Case 2 (640x480).jpg

·
Registered
762 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I higly doubt it is a 1901 saxophone, seems more recent than that.

Some old horns don't have the full range of the sax, so it may be because of that. Could it be a sopranino instead of a curved soprano?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not an expert, but I higly doubt it is a 1901 saxophone, seems more recent than that.

Some old horns don't have the full range of the sax, so it may be because of that. Could it be a sopranino instead of a curved soprano?
Hi, it is definitely a soprano, very well preserved, original case and mouthpiece. The number, "1" should be from 1901, according to lists I have found online. You can see the number in the photo.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
40,481 Posts
This is certainly not a 1901 saxophone. That number one is not the serial number. It is, at best, a late ’20 but more probably late ’30 saxophone

We have had an almost identical post long ago where someone had a Kohlert curved soprano with the number 2 on it

Yes it is a Soprano (a sopranino would have not had such a pronounced curved neck ) and it is in beautiful state, yet it only stretches to Eb which some people would find less desirable than a saxophone with high F (and maybe even a front F which most European and Japanese saxophones didn’t acquire until the late ’60)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,515 Posts