Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm faced with a problem. I'm looking at three great horns that I want to buy, but I can only get one. They are online, so I have to buy it to try it but there are returns. The first horn is a 196*** silver plated King zephyr in almost perfect condition for $1600. The second is a conn 6m vii with 80% original lacquer for $1650. There is also a transitional 1934 6m with id say 60% original lacquer for $1400. There is also a gold plated Chu with the mountain lake scene and a silver plated with gold inside both for $1500. Lastly, a conn new wonder full nude for $1750. Which one should I go for? I want to get one right away so I the cheaper the better. Should I get the trans 6m even though it looks worn(all of these are overhauls and are from sax quest and vintagesax . Com) or wait longer to get the pretty one. This would be the first vintage sax I would buy so I have no experience or knowledge on which is the superior horn. SOTW users, please help!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
33,203 Posts
Get out your decision making coin, and give it a few tosses.

Or...

Call the shops and discuss the horns, then make an informed choice. See if you can narrow it down to two horns from one shop, and get both horns on approval. Play those and make YOUR choice.

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,123 Posts
That's 5 horns, by my count.

...all of these are overhauls and are from sax quest and vintagesax . Com..
Very wise of you to use one of those dealers! I'd call Gayle at vintagesax and talk to her about the horns you are looking at there (and maybe do the same at saxquest). I've dealt with Gayle in the past and she is very honest, mostly only deals in the better horns and puts them into top playing condition (or if not, gives you an honest appraisal of the condition). With the return policy it's hard to go wrong.