Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son was sent off for his first day of school (6th grade) today. First class is band. We purchased a Keilwerth ST90 from a seller on Craigslist last night (paid $350.00). The instrument seemed to be in great condition, but I'm an absolute novice. I'm hoping all goes well. My worse fear is my son telling me that his band instructor said his sax is piece of garbage and is going to need tons of repairs. Crossing my fingers on this one:dontknow:

·
Registered
137 Posts
Hello Foofer,

The ST series has a good reputation and should work well for your son as a beginning instrument. However, having bought it used off craigslist, I would highly recommend taking it to a qualified technician to look it over and make sure everything is in good working order before he begins school. (no leaks, good pads, etc.) All instruments, regardless of brand, price, etc, will need this kind of "tune up" from time to time, and it does not necessarily mean the instrument itself is "garbage". Pads will get dry and worn over time, and will at some point need to be changed, and anything with as many moving parts as a saxophone will need to be inspected from time to time to make sure everything is still working properly. With occasional check ups and taking care of it during use, it should work well for you.

I hope this help you and puts your mind at ease. Thanks for your support of Julius Keilwerth Saxophones!
Al

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
4,901 Posts
The ST series was actually contracted out to a Taiwanese company called Jupiter, but are good horns in their own right. Have a tech give the horn a once over, and it should serve your son quite well in school.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
878 Posts