Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
902 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the thread title indicates, I'm interested in getting a Keilwerth soprano and like to know whether/where I can find any modern horns (i.e., SX90, DL, or DLS) available to playtest in the Greater NY Metro area.

I've been playing an SX90R tenor for over 20 years, but I've never had a chance to play a Keilwerth soprano. I've heard a lot of good things about (and a few good clips of) the latest Leibman-influenced redesign of the horns and I'm at a place in my soprano playing where I'd like to upgrade (I currently play on an Antigua). But the horns are a bit too expensive to justify a purchase without a play testing first.

Has anyone seen one of these at a sax shop in the NYC/Jersey/Philly area?

·
Registered
1,442 Posts
I'm sure you've read my JK soprano thread just below this one.

It seems that due to the low production numbers (only 2-3 per month worldwide, with a 3-6 month back order), that there aren't very many shops that keep the JK sopranos in stock. They are mostly a build to order item. There have been a few shops referenced in my thread from St. Louis and Chicago that have a couple listed on their website. I would hope that the NYC metro would have more availability, but maybe the greater demand also means that they won't be able to keep them in stock.

Good luck on your quest, as I am on the same one also. If you get to play test one or two, please post your thoughts.

·
Registered
902 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Justice,

Thanks. I did read your thread, which obviously overlaps with my question, but I didn't want to hijack it. Also, I was hoping that, given the size of the NY Metro market, there would be at least one available to try somewhere nearby.

If I do get a chance to try and/or buy one, I'll be sure to post my thoughts.

·
Registered
846 Posts

·
Registered
846 Posts