Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a local ad with a black nickel SX-90 tenor in which the seller suggests that his modified SX-90 neck improved the upper register that was noticeably flat.
In his sale ad he goes even further suggesting that ALL Keilwerth necks are poorly designed in respect to their too heavy reinforcement plate.
As you can see in the picture the original reinforcement plate was removed and a cross bar was soldered on instead.
Does it all make sense?

Attachments

·
Registered
Keilwerth saxes (S/A/T), Selmer clarinets (S/B), Altus Azumi flute
1,570 Posts
I can only speak for myself, but I've been playing on the same Keilwerth SX90R tenor for over 20 years. In that time, a significant portion of the lacquer has worn off of my horn, I've had to replace many pads and adjustment materials, I've had to have some keys swedged, and I've replaced the neck cork more than half a dozen times. However, I've never experienced any pull-down or other type of neck damage.

I don't know whether I've been lucky or what this guy's experience is, but I'd be at least a little bit skeptical since he's selling a modified horn and thus has an obvious interest in advertising that modification (which might generally hurt the horn's resale value) as having added value.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,561 Posts
LOL what a scam. Stay away from that thing. My Keilwerth tenor necks are just fine. 1960s-80s Bundy Special tenors and a Conn DJH Modified from the mid 80s

·
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
8,035 Posts