Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm a newbie to improvising, and so far I've found that I make the right note choices when I focus completely on them. But when I do, I loose track of the beats and time COMPLETELY.

My teacher and put on a backing track, go lie down, come back and point to the bar we're on... So I was wondering what it takes to be able to do... Well, that.

Thanks for your time, any other suggestions or advice for a beginner improviser would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Oh one last thing... Are there any exercises that helped you guys when you first began? E.g: Limiting yourself to 4 notes of the blues scale.

·
Registered
385 Posts
The most important thing for me is your sound, time and rhythmic feel. And after this note choices comes in. I found it much more intressting when a player has great time and hip rhythmic ideas than a player with ok time and always plays the ''right'' notes. The metronome is your best friend to learn to get a good time feel.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,919 Posts
There are two aspects to this. One is being able to hear the harmony. You need to not just learn about different types of chords and root progressions, but be able to hear and remember them. Start on a very simple level, e.g. a blues. You should be able to put a blues backing track on and wander away, then when you come back can you tell immediately whether you are hearing chord I, IV or V?

The other thing is to be able to feel 4, 8 16 and 32 bar phrases. Of course not all tunes have that kind of phrase structure, but many do and it's very useful to be able to sense 8 bars rather than having to count them.

Both of these abilities don't just arrive overnight, it can take a lot of practising over and over and over. Good luck.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,494 Posts
Just give it time. If you put enough effort in you will eventually