Sax on the Web Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 209 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
People on these forums seem only too willing to help, but I somehow get the feeling that many keep their powerful secrets close to their chest. How willing are you to divulge your hard won "secrets", or at at least some of your personal epiphanies?.... I've been scouring Jazz forums for a few years now, but have still had to work out stuff for myself, even though it could have been explained in minutes.

Any thoughts?

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
Why don't you throw out some things you'd like to know? From this end, the possibilities are endless, just a matter of figuring out where to start.

·
Banned
3,000 Posts
I've been scouring Jazz forums for a few years now, but have still had to work out stuff for myself, even though it could have been explained in minutes.

Any thoughts?
“Tell me and I'll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I'll understand.”
~Chinese Proverb

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,205 Posts
There are no 'secrets' when it comes to playing any instrument. That was my epiphany.
It's all out there in black and white.
Buy the best gear you can afford, get the best teacher you can afford, then get your butt in the shed and practice it off.
The 'secret' to playing the saxophone lies within yourself. It's up to you to unlock it.

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
There is a difference between having someone tell you how to do something and you do it. I mean, just because someone can tell you that "oh, on G7 chords this scale sounds good" doesn't mean you'll sound good. Heck, I had someone like you ask a question similar to yours. How to solo on Billie's bounce. What can I say? Yeah, you can play this scale, that scale, a little wholetone here, a bebop lick there.