Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to upgrade my alto saxophone from my current Yamaha basic beginner saxophone that I've been playing for the last six years—since 5th grade, which even then I bought as a pre-owned instrument. Right now, I'm tentatively considering Kaizer's 3000 series alto sax, because according to its description, it works well for advanced students and the price (a bit more than $700) seems pretty good. I'll play a lot after 2 years after I go to college, so I'm not really inclined to spend more than a thousand dollars on a new saxophone. (Is this logical? I might be way off here for pricing.)

I'm currently a junior in high school, and I am not—and never have—taking/taken lessons, but I managed to work my way up to my school's highest-tier concert band. In other words, I sound pretty good, but my technique and whatnot could be utter garbage, and I know very little about the specific mechanics of a saxophone and how to choose one that'll fit me.

Has anyone ever tried this saxophone—or any Kaizer saxophone, even? I'm just curious as to what I should expect in terms of quality, and whether or not it'd be a good choice for me right now.

Also, is there any other intermediate alto that you guys would recommend (ideally below $1200-1300)?

·
Forum Contributor 2017
7,759 Posts

From the looks of it this advertisement the sax you are discussing is a Chinese manufactured horn. That in itself is not necessarily a bad thing but there are no viable reviews that
give any indication of its quality so you would be shooting in the dark.

I am sure you will receive tons of advice and even some people who will try to sell you a horn. Among the members here there are some fantastic used horns for sale if
you spend just a little more, but you might find a bargain here as well.