Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been playing for 6 years and I'm a junior in high school. Music is my complete passion and soul, I feel like I'm missing my heart when my time is void of music. I even plan on majoring in some form of music in college.....
But recently when I practice, I just can't do it. I'm so confused all of a sudden and I honestly don't know what to do, how to manage my time, ect. I've been trying to use stuff by Tim Price, because I have no way of actually getting lessons, but it's far from working for me.
Should I do everything by ear and avoid sheet music, would that be productive?
How do I REALLY practice my improv?
I think I need a straight recharge, and rethinking of EVERY way I practice.

What do you think is the best way to practice, in profound details, for a junior aiming for music college?

thanks guys, I'd really, really appreciate the help!!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,038 Posts
Sounds like your learning may have hit a plateau. It happens in all sort of learning situations. It will pass. A little time off might help. Everyone is different.

·
Registered
571 Posts
Spend a day working on different kinds of trills.

Then the trill will be back.

·
Banned
6,369 Posts
Sounds like your learning may have hit a plateau. It happens in all sort of learning situations. It will pass. A little time off might help. Everyone is different.
+1

What were you working on before?

Edit : do you play in a band?

·
Registered
297 Posts
Be patient with yourself and try making some changes. There are some really good articles on practice sessions here and on the web pages of some of the members. And maybe give yourself a break and relax a little. I started music studies when I was six and I'm 61 now. Everyone has times when it loses some of the shine. It will come back. Remember to have fun and not take it all too seriously.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014