Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
4,702 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks, we just added a soprano to our collection of saxes here at home. Im only a newbie and so's the rest of the family. Weve all been practising and learning on alto saxaphones, we each have our own units, so we each are responsible for looking after our own units as I keep re-interating to my 11 year old daughter. We all gave the soprano a go yesterday as it was a new item , and we found a couple of problems, so Im curious if its just us or maybe the saxaphone. All high notes sound magnificent, really really nice. also mid c b and a are fine but when you go to mid g and lower to d it sounds pretty screwed up. You can say blow say 3 mid g's and then the g will suddenly squeak like its a high g, ive checked the neck octave to make sure its transition changing between the two holes and it appears to be working fine but the g note just changes and obviously it will affect the lower notes as well. I guess the problem Im saying is tthat it appears to be inconsistent on the g and lower is this usually a tone problem or a mechanical problem
Thanks
Steve

Edit : Sorry I just forgot because we dont have access at the moment to soprano reeds "local music shop issues" we are using a No 2 clarinet reed, as the wifes got a couple of these for her clarinets. So could this be causing the problem

·
21,289 Posts