Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, does anybody know what is John Ruocco's set up?
I've just listened to "IF", a record by Myriam Alter and Ruocco has a tremendous clarinet tone! What a player! Great control, jazz language, and fantastic dynamics!
I consider myself a "bebop man" and I usually don't like tango music or yiddish compositions, I usally find them boring, but this is not the case, a very vital ensemble with beautiful compositions, a very lyrical approach.
I have changed my mind!

Other musicians are:
Dino Saluzzi (bandoneon);
John Ruocco (clarinet);
Kenny Werner (piano);
Greg Cohen (bass);
Joey Baron (drums).

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
7,866 Posts
John plays a plastic Bundy clarinet, and usually a crystal mouthpiece, either Selmer or Pomarico. Plastic reeds too, and sometimes Forestone.
I studied with him for years. Amazing guy and player.

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you warp x.
A plastic clarinet, holy god! Ruocco achieves a great tone and he is a very distinctive voice and approach!
Clarinet purist think that plastic instruments are good for kids, but not professional instruments.
We all know...it's the player, not the instrument!

·
Registered
3,736 Posts
Thank you warp x.
A plastic clarinet, holy god! Ruocco achieves a great tone and he is a very distinctive voice and approach!
Clarinet purist think that plastic instruments are good for kids, but not professional instruments.