Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
483 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not a sax player, but what genius! Here's a video from 2015 when he was 11 years old. In the interview in the middle of the video, he says he is self taught!!???????!!!!!!!

Just ridiculous!

later

JOel

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,428 Posts
A great player...technically. I found it disturbing, as if he were a robot and could be made to play anything, no matter how...pedestrian and souless.

·
Forum Contributor 2016-17
482 Posts
A great player...technically. I found it disturbing, as if he were a robot and could be made to play anything, no matter how...pedestrian and souless.
The kid has shown real growth over the last few years (must be 14-15 now?). I have seen clips where his playing has evolved, and sounds more organic. It's not a reasonable expectation for someone at 11 to play melodic, coherent solos, but the fact is that he clearly loves the music, is shedding, learning the language of modern jazz, and continues to improve. I'm hoping he continues to do his thing and does not burn out.

·
Registered
483 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Souless????? He's a kid. At his age in the video I was still watching cartoons (ok, I still watch cartoons). He probably hasn't even had his heart broken yet. His command of developing a melody......advanced harmony..........rhythm..........is incredible regardless of his age. Two decades ago, I played a whole lotta notes. Now, my ear is so much better, and I play with much more patience. He'll probably advance like that in a matter of a year or two. You'll also see a lot more dynamics as the small muscles in his hands and forearms develop. I look forward to how he develops in the coming years.

Yo Shedshark,

I would rather hear your own opinion.

later

JOel

·
Premium Member
15,480 Posts
I have followed him since he came out.

Genius....and growing.