Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I play a Vandoren V16 T8 metal tenor mouthpiece now. Thinking about trying the JodyJazz DV or DV Chicago mouthpieces in 7* or 8*. Anyone have experience to share with these? I’m leaning towards the 7*, since it’s close to my V16, but wonder if I should consider the larger tip opening?

I know, I need to try them myself, but I’m curious about others’ experience, thx.

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
My experience was with the DV NY, so not sure if relevant. I had a 7 and a 7*. I sold the 7* and kept the 7. I didn’t find a big difference, but ultimately preferred the 7.

·
Registered
3,714 Posts
I've been playing the DV Chi as my main tenor piece in 7* for many years now - since shortly after it came out. I also have one in 8* that I play occasionally when I feel like I want/need to be louder. I also owned a JJ DV 8* for a couple of years but it was too bright for me especially down low so I let it go. The regular DV will be a very bright playing piece in a 7* especially compared to what you are presently playing.

Everyone is different so you need to play them for yourself but first I would decide what it is you want. IMO, the DVNY will be closest to what you are presently using and I'd try that in a 7* or maybe an 8 if you can find one. The DV Chi will be a step up in brightness, at least it is for me, and the 7* is more like a 7** (.108) so that's similar in tip opening to what you have with your Vandoren though you may find you like it in 8* to counter-act some of the added brightness from the increased baffle. Unless you want something very bright and easy blowing I think you are going to find the standard DV design more acceptable in the 8* tip.