Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a high school student and i would like to get a pro horn. I could use some feedback!

I am a heavy jazz fan and my "forte" is Big Band! I also like dixieland and bop, not so much the modern stuff!

My band directors say i should either get a Custom Z or an SA80. Personaily i don't like the feel and sound of Yamaha.

I've heard great things about the SX90, how it can "cut through the biggest big band and blend seamlessly in a small group" I like a bright sound. It could save me a few hundred bucks also!:D

On the other hand the SA80 is the most widely used horn out there and is one of the best!

I don't know which one!:? Can you help? Thanx!

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
The SX-90 is not a bright sax(despite what the JK website may say). It may be brighter than it's corresponding "R"(rolled tone holes supposedly darker tone a bit) model but because of their bigger bore JKs are dark saxes. SA80(rich sound) and custom Zs(very warm sound) are middle of the road saxes w/ referance to brightness. The series III Selmers and Yanagisawas(brass models-bronze are slightly darker{trhough some will say material doesn't matter}) lean towards the bright side. Jks are great saxes,one of my faves!!!!But SA80 and custom Z are quite nice also!!!!

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
Oh I see you posted in the Selmer section and the Keilwerth section!!!!The Keilwerth is dark sounding. The Yamaha Z and Selmer SA80 are "middle of the road" in between bright or dark. Selmer series IIIs and Yanagisawas tend to be bright.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
JD, I have a Serie II alto and JK and Z tenors and I have played a JK alto.