Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,720 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering what you guys who play this piece (maybe the regular DV as well) are using in terms of reeds. I've only had it for about a week so I'm still getting used to it but I've found the palm key notes get a little "chirppy" on me with the RJSs I've been playing. I've tried 2H,3S & 3M as well as a few different Vandorens. So far an old Vandoren ZZ #3 has worked the best for me. So what do you guys like?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts
I typically prefer RJS's on everything but liked the ZZ's more on the CHI. I was playing a ZZ 3.5 on the CHI though an RJS 3M worked too. I'll say this though, I didn't like that ring ligature and used either just a Rovner Dark or an Olegature instead.

·
Registered
70 Posts
I found the same thing Keith, for me the V16 gave me a more even upper register

·
Registered
4,140 Posts
Hi KeithL. I've been playing the gold DV for about 3 years. Whatever reed you go with do yourself a favor and try the Selmer 2 screw ligature. The Rovner will stifle the true sound and response making intonation a chore. As far as reeds I finally settled on Vandoren Java red box 2 1/2. They give the fullest sound and best response. Now not every reed will sound great and this is especially true with the DV. I tried the CHI DV for a few minutes and decided I'll stay with the gold DV. However the CHI seemed to have as much power as the gold one. In all fairness I only played it for 3 minutes.That Semer ligature I believe is called the 404. At any rate it's the siverplated one. Do yourself a favor and try it.I tried all kinds of reeds and strengths. I'm talking boxes of brands. After the ligature change I think I could even go with Rico Royals. But for now I'm totally cool with the Java red box.

·
Registered
3,720 Posts
Discussion Starter #6