Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,027 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like for those who have played on gold pads on their sax at one time or another to provide some feedback in this thread. Please share what you like or don't like about them. Techs can share their experience installing them. Thanks.

·
SOTW Columnist and Forum Contributor 2015-2016
3,832 Posts
Not personal experience but that of my mentor before he passed away a few years ago. He was a master tech of 35+ years experience. He was a fan of the durability but a bit skeptical of the prep work required. He didn't like the fact that the tone holes had to be filed for the pads to work precisely. It also required significantly more set up work in his opinion which meant the customer had to pay for more time, but he usually just included it with the overhaul price

This is just from memory and I have no personal experience working with them, just thought it might be helpful.

- Saxaholic

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,951 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,889 Posts
a few answers to this question.

Hopefully some of the people will see the alert and react i this thread too. ( there were few previous threads)

I've done a few horns with them. They all sounded very dark and even. They've been very low maintenance but a bear to install.
I have never had any problem with sticking with these pads. I have installed about a dozen sets of them and have them in all my own personal horns and never had a problem w/ sticking (even if I am playing the horn 8+ hours a day while drinking sweet coffee)....

As far as going out of adjustment is concerned, if these pads are installed properly, they won't ever go out of adjustment unless your horn is either made in Taiwan or seriously abused.