Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
802 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I feel like my lack of jazz music theory knowledge is hindering my improvisation.
What are important things to know about jazz music theory?
Stuff like, the circle of fourths, fifths, etc.
I just don't know where to start, I already have basic music theory knowledge such as, voicing, interval, chord structures.

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
It might be helpful to give a little background. Where you are in theory, etc.

For example... Do you understand chords?

-Bubba-

·
Registered
802 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It might be helpful to give a little background. Where you are in theory, etc.

For example... Do you understand chords?

-Bubba-
I took a high school class the past year on music theory.
I understand chords and inversions. I'm not sure what else to add.

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
I'm no expert... But to get you started, You should know in improvisation (at least one way of looking at it), is a chord has a scale to it. For example... C Maj = C Maj scale. If you know about modes, you realize theirs multiple minors. To start off, your best bet is Dorian minor. C Minor Chord = C Dorian Minor scale. (b3, b7).

From there you can move to some cooler concepts. Like, a ii - V - I progression. Like it shows, you take the Minor ii of the key, the V, and and I.
So in C, Dmin - G7 - C. If you write these out, you have D F A C - G B D F - C E G B. Notice they keep the key signature of the I chord.

Do you understand these things?

-Bubba-

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,003 Posts
I feel like my lack of jazz music theory knowledge is hindering my improvisation.
What are important things to know about jazz music theory?
I just don't know where to start, I already have basic music theory knowledge such as, voicing, interval, chord structures.