Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for some advice and/or recommendations on what good jazz mouthpieces are out there, especially for a nice dark tenor sound. I've been playing for over 12 years now on alto and for about 3 years on tenor in my college's jazz ensemble. I'm playing on a Yamaha Custom Z tenor with the stock Yamaha 4C that came with the horn, a Rovner leather ligature, and Vandoren blue box #3 reeds. I've also played on a Selmer C* in the past for classical applications which I did also like.

I recently found a recording of Brian Clancy soloing on "Yesterdays". His tone is what I'm ultimately aiming for. I believe he plays on a Vandoren V16 metal, but I'm not sure whether metal or rubber is the way to go.

I should also note that I have tried a couple Jody Jazz mpcs that I didn't quite like. The overall length of them was quite short and ended up making my intonation go way sharp to the point that I cannot adjust anymore.

I'd appreciate any tips or advice on finding the right mouthpiece.

·
Registered
5,720 Posts
Your Yamaha tenor is essentially a Selmer copy. There are a number of well established choices.

1) The go-to mouthpiece for the Selmer tenor sax for the last 60 years or so has been the Otto Link metal mouthpiece. I have read a number of places that the current production ones are not made with the highest quality control, so you should consider one of the Link copies that are made supposedly with better QC. MacSax makes a 3d printed copy of a Link that is supposedly really good value for money. I tried one of these and though it wouldn't have worked for me, it was a really high quality MP for the cost. It is ugly though.