Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Saxers:

I'm taking the leap from playing as a sectional player in the Big Band to becoming a participating soloist, I want to run with the big dogs now, and have been playing in the classical style for years, no liberties, mostly on bari sax.

How do you get out of your analytical head into feeling and creating for improvisation? This was just recently mentioned to me by our astute jazz director, "get out of your head".

Getting out of that uptight feeling, maybe it will never happen, my day job is very analytical and detailed: Liquor, Weed?

Is this why there were so many addicts in the music industry? I'm sure this has been asked before.

Open to any and all suggestions, feeling trapped in this brain.

Thanks peeps.

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
I’d say forget the stimulants, depressants and euphorics and spend some time listening to the kind of music you want to play. Get some books on improv if you’d like, and follow their method if that’s your learning style, but I do not suggest looking to mood altering substances to instigate creativity.

I suggest the Nike method: Just do it. (I mean start doing it, then over time get better at it, as with learning most things.)

I’ll defer to others more experienced for more specific suggestions, as I’m pretty awful at improvising. But I find that such substances never really helped me much. Just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
66 Posts