Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this something that one teaches or is it supposed to be intuitive/picked up during the course of practicing? Are there books and exercises that help teach how to improvise? I really want to get better at this because I want to play more jazz. Thats why I started playing sax to begin with.

·
Registered
86 Posts
There are many resources for improvisation.....

There are many resources available in the subject of jazz improvisation. Countless books have been written to deal with improv. Really, one of your best resources is the Jamey Aebersold series. If you know absolutely nothing about improvising, I suggest picking up Volume 1 and 3 to start with. This will help you develop some basic skills at understanding chord progressions, and it will also give you some basic appropriate language.

Transcriptions are still, and will always be, regarded as one of the most effective ways to learn how to improvise. For beginners, trying to transcribe jazz solos directly from the recording may be a daunting task, so I often recommend beginning with a transcription book that you may purchase at a local store, such as the Charlie Parker onmibook. Then, buy the recordings that accompany these solos. Learn to play along with the recording, and try to memorize the solos. As this becomes more comfortable, take a few of the patterns from the Parker solos (one or two measure ideas at a time), and play them over the appropriate keys in the Aebersold volume 3.

These steps will get you well on your way to learning how to improvise. Depending on where you live, you may have several saxophone instructors in your area who can also help you tremendously! Good luck to you, and let me know what else I can do to help!

·
Registered
103 Posts
LJ said: