Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been playing saxophone for 5 years now (wow, that time flies), and my current mouthpiece is a Selmer c*. I also have a Selmer metal jazz c*, but I don't find myself using it that much. I play on a Yani a991 with Vandoren zz reeds, and the hard rubber c* just doesn't sound 'jazzy' enough. Does anyone have any favorites/suggestions?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
13,550 Posts
The first question is what tonal palate are you interested in? Without this information there are dozens of choices. A price range and naming a couple of players whose tone you gravitate towards would be helpful in offering input. Otherwise you will get advice from all angles. Some may not apply to where you want to be headed. Its about the music, not the mouthpiece. Start from that premise.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
As for price, it's an investment, so I'm very open-minded. I haven't really found "my" sound yet, but I can say that Charlie Parker had an amazing tone. I wouldn't mind heading that direction.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Hi there,

Well Parker played on a Brilhart mouthpiece as far as I know, but there are still many people that swear by a Meyer. Meyer 5 or 6 is probably a good bet. I am in jazz mouthpiece transition myself, but I enjoy the Vandoren V16 alto mouthpieces a lot. Either an A5 or A6 would be another option. I find them to have a clearer & more versatile tone than the current meyers being made. As far as price, Ted Klum makes very good mouthpieces, but they will run you into the 200-350 dollar range for sure....

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,446 Posts