Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

This is my first time posting, although I've thought about it for a long time. I haven't been able to find a thread with exactly the same problem as mine, but apologies if this is repetitive of another post.

I have jaw pain while I play my tenor sax. It's more of a buildup of pressure over time while I'm playing a single note that occurs right at the joint of my jaw. When I start a new note it goes away and then starts as I sustain the note. It's most noticeable during long tones, and is present for all notes but seems to build up faster in the high notes until there's so much pressure I feel like my head will burst. I've noticed that as soon as I start blowing a note, I jut my lower jaw out and feel this as a bulging in the joint. When I bring the lower jaw back, like for pitch bending, the pain goes away, but the note of course goes flat.

When you all play, does your lower jaw jut out (which I can feel easiest by placing my hand on my jaw joint before and during playing)? Is it an issue with an incorrect embouchure or perhaps something anatomical?

Some background on me: I've been playing tenor seriously for about 4 years (in college right now). I've had this issue before but it hasn't ever stuck around this consistently. My setup: Cannonball big bell stone series, otto link 7*, d'addario jazz select 3M. I switched from an 8* to 7* last summer, and the problem started a few months after that and hasn't stopped since.

I greatly appreciate any help! This issue is making it difficult for me to enjoy practicing.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
33,264 Posts