Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys!

I was lucky enough to be able to pick the tune of the month for January, and I've decided to go with Chick Corea's "500 Miles High". I'm fairly new to this TOTM thing, so please let me know if this has already been chosen in the past (couldn't find it in the search, so I'm guessing it's fair game).

I've always loved this tune, and figured this was a good opportunity to learn it. If anyone needs a playalong, I can hook you up. I have a concert pitch lead sheet that I'll be transposing as well if anyone needs one.

Looking forward to hearing everyone on this one! Here's a nice version I found on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XN_VeD58kyY

·
Administrator Emeritus
18,442 Posts

·
Registered
2,328 Posts
As a longtime fan of both samba music AND Chick Corea, I'm looking forward to having a go at this one. It's one of those tunes we read through a time or two at rehearsals but never performed.

From Return to Forever's (RTF's) Light at a Feather with Airto on percussion and Flora Purim on vocals...if you're into this type of music those first two RTF albums are amazing. Joe Farrell is great on woodwinds, one of the GREAT doublers...
500 Miles High (lp version)

·
Registered
500 Posts

·
Registered
2,328 Posts
u

Had no intention of jumping in this soon, just happened to be looking at this today and had a reed with some good stuff happening. So I took a quick go at it... I did two takes, this was #2 (although the first 50 secs was from the first intro). I faded as there was still about another 4 minutes of jamming on the end there!

500 Minutes Long

ps - I Actually timed it pretty good that was in real time where I started the backing part....

·
Registered
500 Posts
Had no intention of jumping in this soon, just happened to be looking at this today and had a reed with some good stuff happening. [....]
500 Minutes Long