Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious to know any thoughts or from anyone with any experience as to which might be the better flute. I am a saxophonist first and a long time flute doubler. I do not want an open hole flute and definitely want the offset G. I know the Yamaha always gets very positive reviews and Dave Kessler gave glowing reviews to the Galway line of Flutes.
I've been playing a student Bundy for about 30 years and have an Artley Wilkens closed hole with an in-line G that I could never get used to and want to sell.
Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
Call me sceptical, but after seeing many very positive reviews which I eventually find to quite mis-represent the instrument, I take all very positive reviews with several grains of salt, unless, as with Yamaha there is a wide consensus of opinion in a less formal setting.

1. The reviewer often has commercial interests in the brand, or has personal loyalties to a person involved with the brand.
2. Very positive reviews can be found for pretty much every brand.
3. Negative reviews are almost non-existent, because in some countries they are too likely to invite litigation.
4. A player's name such as Galway attached to a flute usually means absolutely nothing.

I write generally, and intend no attack on Mr Kessler, whom I don't know from a bar of soap.
There are exceptions to every pattern.

·
Registered
8,396 Posts
When I read the words "James Galway spirit" the word's "Kenny G" saxes came to mind. More than likely some Chinese junk with a famous player's name stamped on it.
Believe it or not, I have an old Jupiter flute that is very easy to play for a doubler like me. I've played it next to real flute players with real flutes and drowned them out. Definitely the loudest playing flute I have tried. Now intonation? So-so.