Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've done a few really simple recordings for some rock things. And they were really just a few. Also played when I got a more open tip of a piece that I loved, but wish I had a more open tip...

My father died in June of last year, and it took all the wind out of my creative desires. For some reason, I just don't feel like playing. I felt the need to focus on my career, which is thankfully still creative and musical.

I've been playing pretty seriously for 30 years, with one weak 3 year break as I started in my career. I was observing a lot of music during that time and did feel like I came out a better player when I got serious again.

Don't know how long this current break will last. Not feeling the horn at the moment, but not going to sell anything. I know I'll be back. I still do some really small stuff. Working with some projects that need some lines here and there.

Not giving myself a guilt trip about it, and would honestly find a smart arz but wise comment from Thomas great right now. Or anyone else for that matter.

My dad was 88 and had 4 strokes within the last 3 years of his life. He came in and out of reality by the end. I had been preparing for this since his 70s. He was 46 when he had me, and 49 when he had my brother... Crazy.

Well, just sharing a very small piece of emotions about how life can affect my playing. There is much more to the picture that I don't care to share... Maybe this can help someone in the future.

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
You'll be back. In the mean time, good luck.

·
Banned
864 Posts
My dad was 88 and had 4 strokes within the last 3 years of his life. He came in and out of reality by the end. I had been preparing for this since his 70s. He was 46 when he had me, and 49 when he had my brother... Crazy.