Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
First off this is my first post, and im glad to have found this great forum.

I've been playing alto for about 4 years now and wanted to pick up a tenor.

I found this one on craigslist in my area.
http://columbus.craigslist.org/msg/2268879741.html

The seller says they dont know the brand or model, and its not written on the bell.

So is it decent or a generic Chinese crap sax??

Thanks for your help.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,887 Posts
There are some good Chinese saxophones around.......this, in all probability, ain't one of them

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,948 Posts
Almost impossible to say from those photos, I'd steer clear of it unless you can go and try it out, in which case you might find a bargain, but being unbranded I would be quite wary.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
It's impossible to tell from the photos. Sight unseen, your best bet in this price range (plus just a little) is a used Yamaha or Japanese-made Vito. If you can spend a little more, there are a lot more choices. And you might ask if some of the SOTW members might have something in your price range. In general, stay away from anything without a name brand on it unless you can truly trust the source from which it comes.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
I'd forget the horn on craigslist. Some no name junker not worth the look.

I would do some research and consider one of the up and coming Chinese horns, maybe a Bauhaus-Walstien tenor. Different strokes for different folks and no disrespect intended, but I wouldn't put my money into a hammered old Kohlert with prices for new horns from Taiwan and China being what they are. For a little more money and with some careful research you can get a really decent horn on the cheap.