Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
7,614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi y'all,

I'm a long time pro player (since 1964) and a multi-instrumentalist (sax, flute, wind synth, guitar,, bass, drums, vocals) and for the first time I'm trying synthetic reeds.

I got a FIbracell and it's a bit too soft for me. It blows well except on the highest notes in the natural register (left palm keys) where it wants to close the tip opening.

It's a tenor reed.

Is there any way to trim them? If so, what is the best way to go about it?

Thanks,
Notes

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,310 Posts
If anyone has thoughts on this I would be interested also.

·
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,420 Posts
I guess it depends on what kind of synthetic. I gather that a regular trimmer doesn't make a clean cut? How about placing one reed over the other with the tip just slightly behind the one you want to trim, then use a toenail clipper (has a flatter curve) to trace the back reed so you maintain the shape.
Personally, being a Fibracell player on sop, alt and bar, I would buy the next higher Fibracell and very lightly sand the vamp to bring it down to where it needs to be. I will be doing that for my baritone soon. I was doing okay with Fibracell 2 1/2 when I was playing a .120 but I changed to a .110 and the same reed is borderline soft. I happen to have a #3 that was too hard for the .120 so when the 2 1/2 starts to go soft I'll get that 3 and work on it some.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,840 Posts
Fibracell, you should be able to clip it with a normal clipper ( probably the same is possible of Hartmann’s) , legere and foreststone would be very difficult to clip they are too bendy.

My guess is that it is best to clip a fibracell that is not wet (unlike real cane) and that is cold (because is probably less bendy this way).

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
3,408 Posts