Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,862 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey folks,

I'm soon going to be the proud owner of three tenors, and so, as both Eddie Vinson and my wife say, "somebody sure has got to go"!

I'm thinking about trying to sell my silver King Cleveland tenor on SotW as a complete package. It will be ready to play "out of the box," and the price will include shipping, a good case, a good vintage mouthpiece and lig, a brand new strap, and a box of reeds.

This is a good tenor: it's an early version of the 615, I guess, but it clearly came from the factory where the Zephyrs were being built. For example. it has a Zephyr style neck.

The bottom end is killer (easily as good as my Martin), and, with the right mouthpiece put on properly, has decent intonation top to bottom--I've been using it for about two years and the folks I play with say it sounds more in tune than my Selmer SA80 did! Tone matching on the first four fundamentals is no problem, and if I make sure the neck and piece play a concert E, the horn plays in tune with the piano in my practice space very readily. Middle D and Eflat play a little venty, which I think is normal for horns of this vintage (early 40s), but the rest of the horn, including the palm keys, is very consistent. The silver plate gives this horn a suprisingly bright tone--although still very vintage--and it simply roars with my Link STM.

It has a front F and a g# trill.

The only real drawback is the very heavy low C-sharp key--but actually I find the left pinky work on this horn to be no worse/harder than that on my Martin.

The mouthpiece will be a very nice Brilhart Tonalin 5 with a good vintage brass 2 screw lig (and/or a Rovner dark). This is a valuable piece in its own right, and it is the perfect match for the King: these horns simply will not work with many modern pieces, but it's a whole new ball game with the right old, large chambered piece.