Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie and talked to some Conn guys first. Big mistake??? I recently purchased a Pan American USA tenor that screams Martin. It's got soldered/beveled tone holes, left hand bell keys with Martin style wire key guards, Martin style left pinkey cluster and octave mechanism, fixed thumb rest, and nickle keys with pearls. It also has a nickle neck that may or may not be original to the horn. The serial #'s match, but could have been added later to go with the horn. There are no patent dates that I can find and absolutly no reference to Conn. The case dates to roughly late 50's to mid 60's. It appears to be original to the sax. I paid $199 for it and am putting another $325 into it for a complete repad and adjustment.
Ok guys, I'm thinking I've got a Martin stencil similar to the Indiana on the same vintage. When it's done, IF the tech does his job correctly, should I have a smokey monster? I'm a woodwind player of 36 years so don't dummy down your thoughts. Thanks a bunch.

·
19,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Got an email address, or should I attach them to this thread?

·
Registered
268 Posts
bandmommy said:
Got an email address, or should I attach them to this thread?
I'm interested to see too, so host them on Photobucket or Imageshack so we all can see. :]

·
19,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Forget the email,,,,,pics are attached. The sax isn't pretty, I just need one that will play.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015
3,383 Posts
FWIW, it looks quite a bit different from my 30s era PanAm tenor (which is definitely a Conn-abee).

Pete

C

·
0 Posts
It looks like a Martin . The double posts for the bell key guard reminds me of the Committee II. The pinky cluster is Martinesque as well. Beveled tone holes, well we all know Martin does that.