Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, its not broken.. but I have a question.
Recently purchased an Indiana Band Instruments tenor (Martin) in 'aged' condition, 1942, fully mechanically sound and with only one small dent (which I have already removed, so dent free).
Along with the saxophone came a Brilhart Ebolin 5 mouthpiece, of the same era. It has the trademarked logo on it (Brilhart with mouthpiece on one side and reed on the other) and Ebolin written on the neck. I cannot tell whether it has been boogered with or not as it has a little wear from use, and I wouldn't know how to tell anyway - but my issue is that I am all over the place trying to keep a note steady. I mean like if I do not hold my embouchure to the 1000th of an inch I'm squeaking or honking..
I'm just starting out with the saxophone (I played french horn for 16ish years, but always wanted to play the saxophone) so I am definitely in the beginner stage.
I have two other mouthpieces (cheapazz Prestini and Rico) neither of which I have any trouble with, so I'm wondering if there could be something wrong with the Brilhart, or maybe I'm not 'ready' for it yet??
Any insight to what could be the issue?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2017
Picked up a sax in 2002 and here I am.
2,177 Posts
The piece is probably too open for you or maybe too hard a reed. You should start on something like a Selmer S80 with a 1.5 or 2 reed. What reed are you trying? As your embouchure gets stronger you can go to a more open piece and a stiffer reed. If you’re not already, it’s a good idea to take lessons to avoid bad habits. Good luck!

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have both soft and medium soft.. not being absolutely sure which I should start with, and maybe then having the next strength to go to as my embouchure improves.