Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have been studying saxophone for about three years now. I play mostly Alto, with a Vandorem A3 mouthpiece and more recently, a Selmer C* Soloist.

I noticed that my reeds don't last me much: Practicing half an hour per day and having lessons once a week of one hour, a wood reed (vandoren classic 2.5) last me a bit less than 3 weeks and a plastic reed (Legere 2) last me about 2 months. The Legere ones would quickly start bending in the tip, which makes me think I tongue too aggressively.

Does that make sense? If so, how can I get rid of that habit? Even explicitly trying not to do it, I have a hard time keeping my attacks softer. Any other advice on how to make a reed last longer?

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
12 hours on a reed? That seems pretty good IMO. I am interested in what kind of mileage other people average per reed though.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,409 Posts
If I get 12 sets out of a cane reed I'm going to have it bronzed and put on the mantelpiece. That's about six gigs for me - even my Fibracells on baritone and alto are croaking by then.
I'd suggest the OP is using Legere reeds that are too soft - it has nothing to do with 'attack'. The cane reeds (not 'wood') seem to be lasting normally.
All reeds immediately take a curve because they have to curve to be played. A stronger reed is harder to make curve and takes more air. If you take the reed off the mouthpiece after playing and put it in some kind of reed guard where its held straight, it'll be nice and straight the next time.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,888 Posts
Don’t worry about the reed, your tongue attack is only too aggressive if it sounds too aggressive.

It’s a good thing to be very versatile and to be able to tongue aggressively when appropriate and to tongue subtly when appropriate.

It’s the music that matters in the end.

·