Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I've been playing sax for some 16 years now, started dabbling in altissimo notes when I saw a high A at the end of the first movement of the Bill Holcombe Blues Concerto about 12 years ago.

Since then I have bled, stropped, bitten through reeds, smashed glasses. thrown crockery and deafened a few animal in my pursuit to get my upper register sounding as good as my normal register.

My ability in a nutshell: I support my sound well, I have really good control, my intonation is good, my technique is very good and my ear is quite rubbish.

Now overtones. So I discovered the overtone series about 10 years ago, hammered away for months and gave up. Spurradically I'd have a go, despite having students whom have mastered it in this time. A few years ago I incorporated it into my practice regardless of how high I get. No matter what I do I cannot get past the 3rd overtone. I have tried everything!!!!!

Air pressure, Slight changes in throat, lip. cheek. arm pit. rear everything pressure. The only way I can get it is by fingering Bb with the octave key and quickly switching to the low Bb fingering. It's so bloody annoying!

Now since then I have met other sax players with this problem. They cannot do closed tubed exercises at all. Of course because of this I have problems with G + G# in the altissimo with all fingerings known to man. G# is far worse for me than G whereas A, Bb, B, C, C# and D are quite easy.

I'm a classical player, I play the old version of the Yas-62 alto, with a C* mouthpiece and 2.5 vandoren blue box reeds. I think I've told you all I can and hopefully you are equipped to give me some advice.