Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen several threads about mouthpieces "wearing out", warping, etc. and would like some input along those same lines.

I have a Rousseau JDX6 (bari) that I use with ZZ 3.5 reeds and a Rovner ligature. I've been using this same setup now for over 10 years and have had a lot of success.

For the last 6 months or so, though, I just can't seem to find a new good reed. I have some that are old (like a year or so) and they still play pretty well despite their age, but I've gone through a couple boxes of new ZZs and cant seem to find one that's "good".

Which leads me to the conclusion, of course, that the reeds probably aren't at fault. It doesn't seem that they would have changed manufacturing process all of a sudden. And the boxes I've purchased and tried have been over a period of a couple months from different vendors, so it doesn't seem like just a bad batch. The old reeds still sound good, so I don't *think* it's me. And I've tried dropping back to a #3, just in case my chops have gotten lazy.

So what I'm wondering is, is it possible that somehow my mouthpiece has warped a little or gotten "out of flat" somehow? Does that seem likely? :?

I've been thinking about trying a new piece of the same model and specs, just to see if I can tell a difference. This is really the only mouthpiece I have for bari, so I'm reluctant to send it off anywhere ...

As always - Thanks!

·
Forum Contributor 2016, Distinguished SOTW Member
12,798 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Unless you've abused your mouthpiece (like exposed it to excessive heat), I seriously doubt if it has "changed" in some way. I have pieces a lot older than that - they still play well.