Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed it a few weeks ago and couldn't put my finger on it, but this evening having not eaten anything substantial since late morning, when I started practicing then playing, the sound I was producing was mellow, smooth and just as I had been trying to repeat.

Could the fact that there was not so much food in my stomach give me a larger area to resonate from or could it be that there was more room for air?

Maybe I am talking out of my As* and maybe it was just a coincidence, however would I welcome your thoughts.:!:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
13,029 Posts
If I'm not distracted by hunger, I do feel better when playing if I haven't recently had a meal.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
5,160 Posts
Absolutely, When I play weddings we usually get a big fancy meal. It sure is tough to get Rockin' after a big steak. :cry:

·
13,029 Posts
jentone said:
Absolutely, When I play weddings we usually get a big fancy meal. I sure is tough to get Rockin' after a big steak. :cry:
Burping up gravy while playing SUCKS!!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Forum Contributor 20
1,419 Posts
Many aspiring musicians find that practicing and playing while hungry becomes a habit . . . ;)

·
Registered
680 Posts
I like playing another set after a meal.
Just add to the list of variables:
Reed/mouthpiece/ligature/neck/horn/Strap?/RoomAcoustics/
stomachContent/bloodSugarLevel/earwaxThickness/generalhydration
/TimeOfDay?/AirTemperature/altitude/energyLevel/EmotionalState/DigestiveState/
fingerNailLength/SockTightness/ToenailLength
What have I missed?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2012
1,020 Posts