Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been attempting to work through the overtone series for about three years now, but I just can't seem to figure it out. I have Rascher's "Top Tones for the Saxophone," I've had several different instructors explain it to me, I've read tons of posts on this website for ideas of what to try, I've sat for hours at a time just experimenting with tongue and soft palate position and whatnot, but I've been stuck in the exact same spot for three years, causing me to quit several times in frustration. I can get up to Bb3 from Bb1 and B3 from B1, but i can only occasionally get out C3 and I have never been able to get C#3. For the life of me I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong...So I've decided to just finally ask: is it just not possible for some people to be able to do overtones/altissimo?

·
SOTW Administrator
26,243 Posts
First of all, welcome to SOTW. I wouldn't worry about the C and the C#. It's of more value to get solid on Bb or B through the 6th to 9th harmonic, IMO.

Have you tried the regular fingering, and suddenly adding the 'long' overtone fingering?

For example, if you play bis Bb2, and then add all the fingers to finger Bb1, but still get Bb2. When you can do this comfortably, play F2, and add the fingers for Bb1, but try to keep the F2.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the welcome!

I would say that my Bb and B are more solid than C and C#, but not by much lol. I have messed around a little with adding the long overtone fingerings but I never really incorporated it as a serious daily exercise, I'll definitely practice more using that. Thanks for the advice!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
26,736 Posts