Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, been playing quite small tipopenings since I started playing sax. Been playing a Berg Larsen 105/2 with a 3ricoroyal reed but last week my teacher who always plays really big tipopenings let me try one his mouthpieces (a Dave Guardala fatboy MBI) the thing is that my intonation sucks with it. I feel like I adapted quickly to the bigger tipopening and I really dig the sound but the whole lower register is like 25cent flat! Have this ever happend to you? Is it just a learning process to get comfortable with that bigger opening? Or what can I do wrong? The Guardala is a 8* and I play a 2,5 reed on it.
Thanks!

·
Grafton + TH & C alto || Naked Lady 10M || TT soprano || Martin Comm III
30,100 Posts
I don’t see a reason to relate it to the tip opening as you are comparing two different mouthpieces.

if you could compare the same make and model with different tip openings it may be a more relevant comparison. In my experience a bigger tip per se (ie if its was the same mouthpiece) can allow more flexibility of pitch so can allow you more control, but no actual charge to the overall basic intonation of the horn.

But two different mouthpiece models could mean different internal volume whom which (even with same tip opening) could have an effect on intonation, not to mention that you may well want to to (or should) use a slightly different embouchure anyway if, for example, the length of the facing curve is different irrespective of actual tip opening.

·
Premium Member
18,577 Posts