Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,941 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I've been playing the same Mark VI tenor since I started playing professionally and all through college. It's a great horn, it feels and sounds great, but the intonation has always been wild. Not in any way that can't be overcome with embouchure adjustments, but it's been still noticeable and I'm getting tired of putting in the extra effort. I know it isn't just me, either. I've played many other players' Mark VIs and SBAs over the years and they were all really locked in by comparison. I've experimented with different mouthpieces, key heights, etc, all to no avail. I'm beginning to think it's the neck, which has been slightly dog-legged for as long as I've had the horn.

Anyone else deal with crazy intonation on vintage Selmers? Do you think a new neck would fix the problem?

Thanks,

Craig

·
Forum Contributor 2016-17
482 Posts
I had a some intonation issues (particularly in the upper register) on my Mark VI whose neck was repaired after pull-down. An aftermarket neck definitely made a difference. I don't know if it is a cure-all, but it is worth a shot, provided you have the ability to try before you buy.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,580 Posts
Hey all,

I've been playing the same Mark VI tenor since I started playing professionally and all through college. It's a great horn, it feels and sounds great, but the intonation has always been wild. Not in any way that can't be overcome with embouchure adjustments, but it's been still noticeable and I'm getting tired of putting in the extra effort. I know it isn't just me, either. I've played many other players' Mark VIs and SBAs over the years and they were all really locked in by comparison. I've experimented with different mouthpieces, key heights, etc, all to no avail. I'm beginning to think it's the neck, which has been slightly dog-legged for as long as I've had the horn.