Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I’m only new to this forum so probably going to get a baptism of fire.
I’ve been playing for a little over 6 months with one hour of tuition per week and an average of 6 to 8 hours practice per week on my own. I’ve just turned 50 so am somewhat of a late starter (something I’ve always wanted to do).
My teacher is awesome and I’m moving alone at a good pace of learning and am actually quite proud of myself for having achieved what I have so far.
I purchased a Yamaha YAS 26 brand new when I started and now feel I would like to move it up a notch to next level. I’m tending towards jazz and blues rifts and am enjoying it a lot.
My question is, I’ve been looking at a brand new Selmer Reference 54 alto as my next step. I know it’s jumping straight to one of the top models but would rather drop the coin on a forever than step up gradually. I haven’t played a 54 (or even seen one) as there are currently none for sale where I live. I have a reasonable quote for one online so am ready to make the commitment. Can anyone see any issues is playing such a professional horn at such an early stage in my learning ? (Apart form the sac religious of a total beginner on a quality instrument). Would this model be harder to play than the current Yamaha I have ? (I will be trading/selling as I don’t want to have two altos )
Thanks for any advise
Kind Regards,
Greg

·
Registered
918 Posts
A friend of mine who started playing at age 60 bought a new Yamaha Custom for a bit over $3,000 after playing only about 18 months. It inspired him, and he's been playing it every day for 15 years.

Most members will advise buying a used horn in as-new or excellent condition, saving 30% or more of the cost. That would have been my advice to him, had he asked. Seems you're a bit impulsive, as he is.