Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner, I bought my first sax (tenor) about a year ago, had some lessons last Summer, that's about it.

One of my favorite tenor sounds is on Stan Getz' album "Focus". Getz is very smooth...but he gets (Getz!) this hardness thing sometimes. I'd love to have a mouthpiece that can do this.

For instance, on the first track called "I'm Late I'm Late"...

it can be smooth (listen at 2:00)

and it can have this "hard" sound in the medium/upper register with a smoother lower register (listen at 2:56). Actually, listen to the whole song! This is the "palette" that I want.

He's got this overall smooth thing goin' on, but at any instant, he shifts (easily shifts w/o tension) into this "harder" thing. It's not soft/mellow, and also it's not this bright fuzzy commercial "buzz spraying around" thing. The lower soft turns to the hard middle/upper...but it's clean, not a fundamental plus a cheap "chrome spray." Heck, I've heard soundclips of expensive Jody Jazz DV, DV Chi, etc. and even these great mouthpieces have "body + the high spray"...they just don't do it for me.

The Getz family is supporting some mouthiece Stan used near the end of his life. But I'm interested in this particular period when he recorded "Focus"...actually this particular song. Does anyone know what mouthpiece/reed combination he might be using?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,561 Posts