Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,016 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

It's been a few years since I've been around here. After years of trying to track down an old family heirloom, today I finally got my hands on my great grandfather's alto saxophone. He used to play professionally in the 20's and actually met my great grandmother at a wedding while he was playing this very saxophone. So needless to say, the history alone makes it pretty cool to me.

It looks like it's a really old Conn. Maybe silver plated (or maybe this is what 100 years of patina looks like)? I've been having a bit of difficulty figuring out precisely what this thing is, and whether or not it's likely to play at a high level were it restored. I've been playing a Selmer Series II tenor for 10 years - don't currently have an alto. But I've been in the market for a King Super 20 alto for a while. I have no idea what it'd cost to restore something like this in New York City. If it's reasonable to expect it'd sound like a top tier horn I'd love to restore it but if it would cost tons of dough to get it into playing condition and it'd only ever sound and play OK, I'd just assume save my cash for the King Super 20 and make this thing an art piece.

Photos below.

https://imgur.com/a/PO0w6Xg

Thanks so much for any expertise y'all can bring to bear.

-Alex

·
Registered
929 Posts
Your great grandfather's alto is a silver plated (they didn't lacquer horns when this was made yet) New Wonder 1 model, from the early 20s, and low pitch. (which is good, that's A=440.)