Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Discombobulated SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 201
9,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I got an alto Conavay-McCoy Masterlay mouthpiece in an eBay grab bag. It is also marked "Springfield, Ill." Has anyone ever heard of these or does anyone know anything about these mouthpieces or Conavay and McCoy? Mine is built on a blank very similar to the old round-chambered Geo. M. Bundy / Selmer Elkhart blank. There was an eBay auction of a tenor model with a photo (incorrectly labeled "Masterplay") here. There's a clarinet model for sale cheap here - hmmm, it's also incorrectly labeled "Masterplay."

Edit: the link to the clarinet mouthpiece is broken, I presume because I purchased it. I'll post a photo of it when it arrives.

·
9,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I was a little cavalier in describing this mouthpiece as "very similar to the old round-chambered Geo. M. Bundy / Selmer Elkhart blank." Those blanks, at least the examples I have, are different. Here's a pic of four similar mouthpieces...

From left to right:

1) Geo. M. Bundy with silk-screened signature that is almost completely worn off.

2) Geo. M. Bundy with engraved sig.

1) and 2) are otherwise identical as best I can tell. They have medium round chambers with gently scooped sidewalls.

3) Selmer Elkhart-New York with a 3 stamped on the side.

4) Masterlay, Conavay-McCoy, Springfield Ill. with M 3 stamped on the table.

3) and 4) are nearly identical to each other. The chamber is a little larger than the Bundys, but the general design is close enough that I wonder if this is just a different generation of the same blank.

·
9,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #3