Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so a little bit of a background i have been playing for around 9 years, i started in band in grade school and such and branched out more toward jazz and big band as i got older.

i have a Buesher Aristocrat and a Beechler metal mouthpiece, i love it but im looking for something a little less edgy, and more full.

i am looking at an otto links hard rubber but im leaning towards the vintage one, i was just looking for suggestions

any help is apreciated!

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
I'd recommend a Vandoren V16 T6. They're very similar to the old Florida Links in design but in a HR format and without the inconsistency. It just gets out of your way; the Vandoren lineup is about as good as "off the shelf" gets. They don't have as high a demand on your chops as Links and sound just as good to my ears. Krik Whalum uses the T8...

If you have more money and don't mind waiting, skip the vintage Link and get a refaced modern Super Tone Master or Tone Edge. Check out Phil Engleman's work at www.phil-tone.com. I owned a custom Tone Edge 7 and, while I didn't have the chops for it at the time, I knew it was a killer.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i never looked at vandoren, i had a bottom of the line tone edge 6 in high school and loved it until someone stole it, i will definately check out the vandoren though, the mouthpiece i have is a 7 and while i love it, it kills me so i want to get something a little easier to play haha

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
Right now in the SOTW marketplace, there's a Greg Weir Meyer copy for $50. The one I have plays like a dream. And you can't beat a deal like that with a stick. Better hurry before it's gone.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6