Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a 9th Grader in my High School Jazz Band. My teacher recently gave us our new song, "The Michael Brecker Waltz" and he gave me the Tenor Sax solo part. I don't have any trouble with the written parts, just the improvisation part. I have previous experience improvising with (especially blues scales) but very little with strict chord playing. I just have trouble finding the right notes and putting them good rhythm patterns. The chords in the song are Dma 9, G6(9), Cmi7, F9, Bb ma9, Eb ma9,Gmi9, Gmi7, Fma9, Bmin7, C9, Emi7, C13, G13. I don't know if my director thinks I know this stuff like the back of my hand, but I don't want to give up and disappoint him. I also wanted to know good practice techniques so I can get this all down. I know that this may seem very simplistic to many of you, but I'm still a beginner. Any help is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
340 Posts
Have you spoken to your teacher or director about it? That's what they are there for!

One of the tricky things about improvising over a chord progression like this is that there is no single scale that will work for the entire section.

As a starting point, do you know what notes make up each of those chords? It may help to write them out he following way -

E
C# A Bb
A E G
F# B Eb
D G C
Dma9 G6(9) Cmi7 etc...

Then, start looking for notes that are in common, and notes that you can use to make melodies. This is sometimes known as creating and/or using Guide Tone Lines. For example, you could start on the D (the root in the Dma9), then play the E (the 6 in the G6(9)), then the Eb (the 3rd in the Cmi7) and so on. From there, you and play around a little with tones immediately above and below the guide tones to add colour.